A Vegetarian Baby Shower…

18 Oct

My sister is about to have her first baby… the first grandson and nephew for our side of the family.  And Titi Madelyn gave herself the task to plan a baby shower for my sister.

One of my most daunting tasks for this baby shower was to plan a menu that would be pleasing to all invitees and that it would still be vegetarian and it would represent me well.  I couldn’t bear myself to say I planned a baby shower that would be filled with food and treats that I wouldn’t be able to try out or taste.  The next toughest thing was to find a caterer that would be open to create a fully vegetarian menu where the meat-eaters would never miss the meat.   

I was very lucky my sister and brother-in-law trusted me and my taste in food and didn’t even question my choices.  I only informed them of the menu selected after it was all planned.

I decided to make the Appetizers and a Signature Drink or Bull and have the lunch catered by someone professional.  I had too many things to look after to make food for 35+ people…

  

The appetizers we served were:

  

p1010730.jpg

Red Bell Pepper Dip with an assortment of whole grain crackers

  

Rosemary Almonds

Erasmo, husband to my cousin Marilyn, fell in love with these Almonds…  I gave them all to him to enjoy for later on.

  

sand-esparragos-3

Asparagus Sandwiches

Spinach Pinwheels

Spinach Pinwheels

We baked these the morning of the baby shower and they kept very fresh for the party.  My sister’s nieces and nephew were cautious of these “pastelillitos” and their parents were almost sure they would not like them because spinach is not in their repertoire, but they were all surprised on how delicious they were.  I was a bit afraid they would not leave enough for the other guests at a point… that’s how much they enjoyed them.

Passion Fruit/Guava Fizzy Drink

The catered part of the lunch included:

Green Tossed Salad with Candied Pecans and Cranberries with a Balsamic Vinaigrette

Whole Wheat Rolls with butter

Butternut Squash Risotto made with vegetable broth

Penne Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Creamy Sauce

Green Beans with butter and garlic

     

 At the end, my sister and brother-in-law were very pleased with the baby shower we planned.  And no one  missed the meat…  at least they never mentioned it to me!!!

4 Responses to “A Vegetarian Baby Shower…”

  1. Aimee October 18, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Madelyn – This looks wonderful! I woold LOVE to come to a vegetarian baby shower of yours! Delightful! Send best wishes to your sister. : )

    • KarmaFree Cooking October 18, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      @Aimee… thanks sooooo much!!!

  2. adrienne french October 18, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I am planning a first birthday. I forgot about those asparagus sandwiches!!! They are definatly hitting the menu. I think I might try that pasta dish! I have to tell you again I LOVE KARMA FREE COOKING!!!! I recommended it to my son and his girlfriend he called me a hippy but she loved it lol!

  3. notyet100 October 19, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    everythin looks so yum,perfect baby shower

Leave a comment