Very Berry Sorbet

23 Jun

This week summer started officially, according to the calendar, because in Puerto Rico summer started since April, during Holy Week/Easter.  We have been feeling the heat for weeks…

To celebrate the “official” start of summer, our friends at Serious Eats encouraged us to share with them our favorite frozen treats in a feature Ice Cream Social.  I am a social person… and I have been meaning to make a berry sorbet for the longest time, so what better excuse than to share it with all my Serious Eats friends.

The cool thing… it only has 4 ingredients if you count the water and you only need a food processor and a freezer to make this sorbet.  I do not have an ice cream maker because my kitchen is so small I do not have the space for another gadget, so just like Alton Brown we need to multitask.  And nothing beats this in the natural and refreshing department – it only has berries and agave nectar…  Take that Häagen Dazs!!!!

 

VERY BERRY SORBET

8 frozen strawberries
24 frozen blackberries
¼ cup of water
1/3 cup of agave nectar
 

 

  1. Dissolve the agave nectar into the water.
  2. Place the frozen berries in a food processor.  I cut the strawberries in quarters to make them more even in size with the blackberries.

  1. Pulse your food processor a few times to start mashing the berries.  After a few pulses, let it process normally and pour the water and agave nectar mixture through the chute on the top.  You’ll see how the berries will turn into a slushy.
  2. If you’re not fond of sorbet with seeds, pass the mixture thru a sieve to remove as much of the seeds as possible.  If you don’t mind them, skip this step.
  3. Place in an airtight container and freeze for about 2-3 hours before serving. 

 

This recipe made about 2 cups of sorbet and it is super easy and super refreshing…  I use frozen berries I buy fresh and freeze them myself.  It’s super convenient to make smoothies at home and certainly to make this frozen treat.

5 Responses to “Very Berry Sorbet”

  1. aimee June 23, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Looks great Madelyn!

  2. Cassaendra June 23, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    I will definitely be doing this this weekend! I’ve always thought you had to have special equipment to make this. Thanks for the info~

  3. Stephanie June 23, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    Oooh what a simple and refreshing summer treat! I will be trying this soon. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Kitchen Butterfly July 3, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    It looks pretty. I have some berries and I just got a bottle of agave nectar so………I’ll have to give it a try. Superb job

  5. Renee Lalane January 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    If you freeze the nectar in ice cube trays before adding to the food processor then you can eat the sorbet right away!

Leave a comment