Provençal Rice

21 Sep

With my stove out of commission for a few weeks, I resorted to my trusted friend the rice cooker to help me out in the kitchen.

This is a dish I used to order a lot as accompaniment when I used to eat at La Parrilla Argentina, a “fast food” joint found here in PR in mall food courts.  Never been to Argentina, it’s still in my to-travel list, but apparently this is a popular side dish too.  The name is “french” but that’s the way the named it at La Parrilla, I guess because it uses parsley and garlic.

It’s easy to make, delicious and you don’t need to occupy a stove range when making it.  I usually set the rice cooker and then go off to take a shower, meditate, and do other stuff without having to tend to the food itself.  Rice cookers are the best invention ever…

 Arroz Provencal

PROVENÇAL RICE

1 cup of whole grain, brown Texmati rice (I use the measure in my rice cooker… so I am not completely sure if my “cup” is the same size as yours)
1 tbs sofrito or  2 cloves of garlic, chopped
¼ cup minced flat leaf Italian parsley
½ cup grated Parmesan cheese
Water
Salt
Olive oil

 

  1. Measure rice and wash well.
  2. Place in the rice cooker and fill with rice with about ¼ more than the rice cooker lines say.  Brown Texmati rice needs a bit more water than regular white rice.
  3. Add the sofrito, salt and olive oil to taste. Mix it all in a bit.  I usually pour about 1 tsp to 2 tsp of oil.  I learned to do this by “eyeballing” it.  Cover and turn the rice cooker on.
  4. In my rice cooker, when the chime goes off, I still need to let it rest for about 10-15 more minutes to make sure the steam finish cooking the rice.  After this time has passed, fluff the rice with a fork and stir in the parsley and the parmesan cheese.
  5. Let the flavors meld for about 5-10 minutes more and serve.

 

I had this rice with a tomato and avocado salad and french fries.  YUM!!

3 Responses to “Provençal Rice”

  1. theresa October 19, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    This looks so good! I can’t wait to try it.

  2. Dewitt Trisler February 22, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    A classmate recommended me to check out this post, great post, fascinating read… keep up the good work!

  3. Otra Adriana May 11, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    Quinoa provençal also rocks, if you want to try a variation on this recipe. I steamed some green beans in the same pot about five minutes before the cooking time was over. Super rico!

Leave a comment