Re-creating the Pizzas at Co. Part 1 – The Popeye Pita Pizza

9 Apr

Recently, my friend AnnieMariel and I were bored and took a plane to spend a weekend in NYC…  during this visit we had lunch at Co., a new pizza restaurant in Chelsea

When we were talking about our travels and dining experiences to our French class friends, they asked us to please recreate for them the pizzas we had at Co.  They just though they sounded as delicious as we thought they tasted.  We described them in such detail they just could not be left out in the dark.

We gathered at the house of another friend, which meant I had to transport everything to her house to make the pizzas.  And since I am not dexterous in the bread-making department as you already know… I decided to make these pizzas on Pita bread.  Pita bread is perfect and super reliable t make quick pizzas at home and are in the round shape people expect.  You already saw the version I did for my “nieces” when we were traveling in Vermont.

Here is what you will need to make this spinach-lover pizza…

 popeye-pita-pizza-4

POPEYE PITA PIZZA

Makes 1 personal pizza

 1 whole-wheat pita bread, the larger the better
About 1 tsp olive oil
About 1 tbs gruyere cheese, grated
About 1 tbs pecorino romano cheese, grated
 3 slices of fresh mozzarella cheese – make sure it’s the fresh kind, not the part-skim processed kind
About 2 handfuls of fresh baby spinach, washed and dried in a salad spinner
Garlic salt and freshly cracked black pepper

 

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 450 F.
  2. Place pita bread in a parchment lined baking sheet.  Drizzle a bit of the olive oil and spread it all over the bread.  Grate the gruyere and the pecorino cheeses on top of the pita bread.  Place the slices of mozzarella on top.  Sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper.
  3. Now place as much spinach as you can on top of the pizza.  Try to accommodate as much of those 2 handfuls of spinach as possible, because it will cook down a lot.  Drizzle with extra olive oil and sprinkle with additional salt and fresh pepper.
  4. Place in the oven and bake until the edges of the pita bread start to toast.
  5. Take out of the oven and let it cool off a bit.  After about 3 minutes, cut into 4 slices using a pizza wheel slicer.

 

The girls could not believe how good this pizza was… they were raving all about it for days.  My mom had a chance to try it too the next day.  She was also impressed at the flavors and the look.

5 Responses to “Re-creating the Pizzas at Co. Part 1 – The Popeye Pita Pizza”

  1. Mooner April 18, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    That has to be the ugliest pizza I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen a lot of pizzas.

    KFC – It might not look as pretty as you might like it and maybe my picture does not do it justice, but the flavor of this spinach pizza is AWESOME!!! You need to try it to believe me, but I am telling you, my friends who have tried it are hooked on it.

  2. elizabeth March 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    I’m bookmarking this because I’m always on the lookout for more meat-free dishes during the week and this sounds so delicious. My husband will like the abundance of dark, leafy greens too.

  3. Mika May 17, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Est-ce que votre flux RSS fonctionne ? J’ai essayé d’y accéder mais mon navigateur m’indique une erreur.

  4. Adolfo Santillo June 7, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Appreciate this site, I was searching for other stuff on Yahoo and found this site.

Leave a comment