Steamed Broccoli with Grain Mustard Vinaigrette

4 Nov

The other day I was talking over Skype with my friend from high school, Clari, who now lives in Izmir, Turkey about one of her favorite dishes to make.  She gave me a bunch of Turkish recipes I hope to try for me and you soon.  I would rather eat them while traveling in Turkey first, really, but I will try them here if I do not win the Lotto first.   She mentioned that one of her favorites is Steamed Broccoli with a Yellow Lemon Vinaigrette.  

I was very surprised to hear her story about how her mom does not like the steamed broccoli with lemon combination at all, but her little 5-year old daughter, Kayra, loves it.  The thing is that I love it too…  After our last yoga retreat, I was craving steamed broccoli over olive oil mashed potatoes.  I just needed something to jazz up the broccoli and vinaigrette was just the answer.

So even across the Atlantic, in 2 different continents, two friends love the same dish.  Here’s how I do it…

 

STEAMED BROCCOLI WITH GRAIN MUSTARD VINAIGRETTE

½ a head of broccoli florets
1 tsp grain mustard
Juice of ½ a yellow lemon
About ¼ cup of extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

 

I usually make this with my Olive Oil Mashed Potatoes… so when I finish boiling the potatoes, I place the broccoli florets on top of the potatoes and cover the pot again and turn off the heat.  I let them steam with the steam and heat from the potatoes.

 

 

  1. If you’re making this on its own…  just bring to a boil about ½ inch of salted water in a small saucepan, place the broccoli florets in the pot, cover and turn off  the stove.  The broccoli will cook enough with just that steam that is in the pot.
  2. In about 5-6 minutes, the broccoli will be bright green, cooked, but still have some crunch to it.  I do not like over cooked, limp, opaque green broccoli at all.
  3. While the broccoli is steaming, make the vinaigrette – in a bowl or a jar mix together the mustard, lemon juice, salt, pepper and oil and whisk vigorously until well combined and emulsified.
  4. Drizzle the vinaigrette over the broccoli when you’re ready to eat.  I drizzle the left-over vinaigrette over the mashed potatoes too and it tastes awesome.

 

This vinaigrette works very well with any kind of steamed veggies – cauliflower, green beans, etc.  It’s super versatile as a salad dressing too.  Maybe this way, your kids might like to eat their broccoli too just like Kayra loves it.

4 Responses to “Steamed Broccoli with Grain Mustard Vinaigrette”

  1. Gabriel November 16, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    Very nice. I have also a site for recipes for cooking, but you have to translate the Google translate. I am from Slovakia.
    http://www.irecepty.com

  2. m'elle Pirri-Lee January 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I just saw an article stating that our bodies absorb much more of the phyonutrients of broccoli when it is consumed with mustard. Wonderful recipe, I made broccoli on top of brown rice since I did nt have potatoes and dressed it with your vinaigrette. Thank you for a wonderful meal idea..

    • KarmaFree Cooking January 25, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      I’m so glad u liked it… and about that factoid about mustard and broccoli. That’s news to me!!!

  3. Mark March 13, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    Thanks for the great tip about the brocolli – never knew you could steam them without cooking but rather just with boiled water!

Leave a comment