French Onion Soup

30 Jul

For our Les Francophones get-together I wanted to make a French Onion Soup…  for 2 reasons: 

  1. I’ve been wanting to try it for a long time now, and
  2. I’ve witnessed how my fellow Francophones ordered Onion Soup in every French restaurant we visited… so I wanted true onion soup lovers to try out my vegetarian version.

I took inspiration from the Barefoot Contessa book from Ina Garten.

 

FRENCH ONION SOUP with GRUYERE CROUTONS

6-7 medium yellow onions, sliced
4 tbs of butter
1 tbs olive oil
1 bay leaf
½ cup sherry vinegar
½ cup white balsamic vinegar
8 cups of Roasted Vegetable Stock
Kosher Salt
Freshly Cracked Black Pepper
1 whole wheat baguette
½ cup grated Gruyere cheese

 

  1. In the largest stock pot you have, sauté the onions, butter, olive oil and bay leaf for 20-30 minutes, until the onions are a nice light brown color.
  2. Deglaze the pot with the sherry and white balsamic vinegars and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes.
  3. Add the vegetable stock, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.
  4. Remove the bay leaf and check to see if you need to adjust the seasonings.

 

You can make this soup before your guests arrive and it will keep warm for several hours.

Before serving the soup…

  1. Slice the baguette in ½” slices; drizzle with a bit of olive oil.  Sprinkle with some salt and pepper and place a mound of grated gruyere cheese on top.
  2. Place in a 350° F oven until the croutons toast and the cheese melts and creates a nice brown crust.
  3. Serve the crouton dunked in the soup.

 

The veredict???  Les Francophones loved it.  It’s a sure-fire hit!!!  Bien sûr.

5 Responses to “French Onion Soup”

  1. Danielle - Killeen, Texas July 30, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE french onion soup…I can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks =)

  2. Kim August 6, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    I can tell just by looking at the recipe that it is a winner. French Onion Soup translates perfectly into vegetarian fare. J’ai faim!

  3. My Sweet & Saucy August 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    I LOVE french onion soup! This looks so wonderful!

  4. Adam August 27, 2008 at 5:36 pm #

    Being a vegetarian, I have always wondered what would possess one to put beef in an onion based soup. Doesn’t putting beef in it make it a beef soup with onions? I cannot wait to make this!

  5. thepomegranateblog October 19, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Yum! We made French Onion soup recently…. It’s so rich & warm!

Leave a comment