Sun-dried Tomato Jam

6 Jul

Looking to develop new offerings for my itty-bitty food business, I decided to try a sun-dried tomato something.  In the same week, I ran across 2 tomato jam recipes and I considered it a sign.  The one I followed mostly was Giada’s recipe here…. of course, tweaked to make it vegetarian.

The results… delicious, but too time consuming and expensive to produce for a growing business so I decided then to share with you the fruits of my labor.

This jam tastes awesome spread on top of a crostini, over a goat cheese toast, or as a condiment for a sandwich, like an Eggplant Parmesan Sandwich.  I am sure you and I will be able to come up with many more uses.  Check it out!

 

 

SUN-DRIED TOMATO JAM

4oz sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil and finely chopped
About 1 tbs of the sun-dried tomato oil in the jar
½ tbs olive oil
½ medium sized onion, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tbs brown sugar
3 tbs apple cider vinegar
½ cup water
¼ cup vegetable stock
Kosher Salt and cracked Black pepper to taste

 

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, add the olive oil, sun-dried tomatoes and their oil, onions and garlic.  Stir together and cook until the onions have softened and reached a consistency similar to the tomatoes.  This will take about 10 minutes.
  2. Add the sugar, vinegar, water, vegetable broth, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and bring to a simmer covered for about 30 minutes. 
  3. Uncover and cook some more for about 20-30 minutes, allowing for the liquid to evaporate and the mix to attain the consistency of jam.  Remove from the heat and set aside to cool off.
  4. Use right away or keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.  Believe me, it won’t last longer than that…

 

I know the color in the pictures looks not-so-appetizing, but the flavors ROCK!!!!  It’s sweet and savory all at the same time.  This has become one of my go-to condiments…

One Response to “Sun-dried Tomato Jam”

  1. Risa Dratch May 20, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Great information 🙂

Leave a comment