How to Peel Almonds

10 May

I feel the need to apologize… I have not been posting and sharing with you as frequently as I would like to.

I have been quite busy with a cooking project – trying to evaluate if cooking for hire is a career move I really want to make.  I’ll let you in on more information as it becomes available.

In the meantime, another project I took on was to make something for Mother’s Day, as opposed to buying something.  So I decided to make something with nuts… something to nibble, to snack, to entertain your mouth in between serious food.  My mom is a serious snacker so I decided to indulge her with my Rosemary Almonds.

I personally prefer peeled almonds to those with skins, plus my mom is always shying away from hard to chew foods…  you know, the story that at her age (which she does not represent at all…) her spare parts do not come cheap.  So to please my mom, I soak the almonds to make them a tad softer and to be able to peel them too.

What you need to do is:

  1. Soak the almonds in filtered water for about 2-3 hours.  The almonds will plump a bit and the skin will soften.

 

2.  With the help of your fingernails, clip the tippy tip of the almond and the skin will peel right off, just like peeling an orange with your fingers.

3.  Don’t soak them for too long or they’ll loose some of their oils and won’t roast well. 

4.  If you can’t peel them all in one sitting, drain all the water, let them dry and re-wet them when you’re ready to peel again.

This is how the almonds will look like after they’re peeled.  You’ll still be able to roast them on the stovetop or in the oven for that toasty almond taste, it’ll just take a little longer. 

After you do this, you really learn to appreciate why the cost of blanched, slivered almonds…  it’s a bit of a hassle, but I like them that way.

Enjoy your skinless almonds!!!

7 Responses to “How to Peel Almonds”

  1. stacie May 14, 2008 at 5:43 pm #

    wow, that has got to take a lot of patience! I like the website layout 🙂

  2. fallenangel65 May 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm #

    My ex is from Morocco and a lot of the cookies they make are made with almonds that have been skinned, rose water and such and I can remember spending a weekend doing this during the summer to make cookies for some occasion.

  3. Easy healthy recipes June 1, 2008 at 12:03 pm #

    Wow. It will be quite useful for me. Thanks a lot for the tip.

  4. N HOda January 14, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    It is much easier to blanch the almonds in just boiled water, then putting them in cool water. The skins slip off instead of peeling off. much, much easier….

  5. alawa merabet January 23, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Hello
    I am from Algeria
    I have a problem in peeling almonds
    When you put almonds in hot water to peel
    Becomes red color almonds (peeled)
    Is the water has entered the process
    Is it the color of almonds in the process
    Is the process is incorrect

    Help me to solve the problem
    I want to be a grain of almonds, white (whiter than white)
    Give me a good way of peeling almonds
    Thank you

    • KarmaFree Cooking January 23, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Hi Alawa!!! such a pleasure to have you visit us from Algeria.

      When I soak almonds, I do it in room temperature water; I do not use hot water. I only soak for about 20 minutes now, specially if I am using the almonds in a toasted application. If you soak for longer, the almonds will take a looooong time to roast/toast in an oven because they will absorb a lot of water. If you only soak for 20 mins, the soaking water will darken because of the color in the almond skin, but the almonds will always stay white. Actually, even when soaking for longer, when I have used room temp water, the almonds stay white. Good luck next time… and please tell us about your experience. OK?

  6. Sarah May 3, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

    This is very fast and easy way.
    You can use the microwave for blanch the almonds.
    It is so easy and quick to blanch and skin the almonds in 3 minutes.
    I have tried and worked very well.
    And I made a video about it here

Leave a comment