Pasta with Marinated Tomatoes

14 Dec

This is one of my go-to recipes when I am hungry NOW!!! It’s super easy to make. I learned this recipe from an old Martha Stewart show where she cooked this with Oprah. That probably was about 10 years ago.

I like to make this pasta with spinach fettuccine, but you can use your favorite pasta. Noodles are nice because it’s a chunky sauce olive-oil based sauce and it coats them well, but any kind will do. This works as a main dish or as an accompaniment to others. I served this together with my Eggplant Parmesan dish.

p1010884.jpg

PASTA WITH MARINATED TOMATOES

1/2 pound of spinach fettuccine, or any other pasta you prefer
3 ripe medium tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons fresh basil, julienned
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  1. Mix the tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, basil, garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil in a bowl. Let marinate while you make the pasta. Stir a few times so the flavors meld and the fresh tomatoes break up a bit.
  2. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Salt liberally. Cook pasta according to package directions, al dente.
  3. Drain the pasta and return to the pot.
  4. Mix in the marinated tomatoes mixture in the hot pot.  The warmth of the pasta and the pot will warm-up the sauce.
  5. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top.

A few additional notes:

  • I never peel the tomatoes, but you can if you prefer it. I just wash them really well using Fit.
  • I’ve done this with regular tomatoes, vine-ripened tomatoes, cherry tomatoes and grape tomatoes. The results will always be delicious. And if tomatoes are not in season, use jarred chopped tomatoes (Viter is a great brand because they have no additives or preservatives).  If using whole canned or jarred tomatoes, just don’t add the juice they come in… Just take the tomatoes and chop them finely.
  • Make sure the sun-dried tomatoes do not contain sulfites… Sulfites are harmful to your health and a proved carcinogen.

This sauce is really versatile… later on, I’ll show you additional recipes in which yo can use the same marinated tomatoes in other applications.

2 Responses to “Pasta with Marinated Tomatoes”

  1. Johanne July 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    I’ve been making this pasta dish for years, I call it my ‘summer spaghetti’ because it can be served hot, warm or cold. I like to make up the tomatoe olive oil mixture and let it sit about 30-45 minutes before adding to cooked spaghetti!

  2. stiliano May 20, 2009 at 3:19 am #

    Very nice!

Leave a comment